goldenmeans


anthropologie winter wishlist
December 4, 2008, 9:31 am
Filed under: anthropologie, reviews, shopping, wishlist | Tags:

I visited Anthropologie earlier this week and checked out some of the new merchandise.  Time for a seasonal update on all my anthro loves and desires:

anthro carved cove sweater

Carved Cove Sweater – $128

I’m not typically into sweaters or jackets that have a nubby fabric or texture, but this one is adorable, warm and soo comfy.  It also comes in black and dark orange, but I love the neutral gray.  The half-ruched/half-bow detailing is very cute and very flattering.  The sillhouette is a little fitted and it runs pretty much true to size.  The price however is semi-absurd.

anthro carved cove sweater anthro carved cove sweater

 

***

anthropologie blurred gardens tee

Blurred Gardens Tee – $58

Gosh, I love this blouse.  It’s so bright and cheerful.  I very very rarely buy pieces at full price from Anthro, but I made an exception in this case.

anthro blurred gardens tee

 

***

anthro citrus cluster cardigan

Citrus Cluster Cardigan – $138

Surprisingly cute.  You wouldn’t think so since it looks so old-fashioned what with the crafty-buttons and the lace trim, but that’s almost part of it’s charm.  The buttons are actually quite beautiful up close.  And I love the lace at the collar and the flattering seamings at the bust.

anthro citrus cluster cardigan anthro citrus cluster cardigan

 I normally wear a small, but I think I probably could have stood sizing up with this one since it seems to gape a little at the bust (an unfortunate consequence of it having one closure in the center).  Another absurdly overpriced item though IMO.

***

anthro capacious cardi

Capacious Cardigan – $98

This is so cute, and surprisingly warm.  I love the funnel collar and the casual drapeyness to the whole look.  

anthro capacious cardigan

 

***

 

sight reading cardigan

Sight Reading Cardigan – $98

This cardigan is so beautiful, with sheet music printed in a delicate shaky script all over it.  However, it is so thin, it’s not all that warm and I have a bad feeling it might lose shape quickly :/  My pictures of these turned out too crappy to post, but the sizing/fit is fairly standard for Anthro cardigans.

 

***



anthro pale noon cardigan

Pale Noon Cardigan – $148 (on sale for $79.95)

I was gone for a while so I had a backlog of catalogs to get through; I was browsing through the last Anthropologie catalog in the morning while eating breakfast and I saw the picture of this cardigan above and my heart fluttered.  Imagine my surprise when I walked in the store to see it already on sale.  I took that as I sign to buy it immediately.

anthro pale noon cardiimg_0333

 

The cardigan is really beautiful — it is a soft knit in the palest shade of peach, with beautiful pearly buttons and slanted pockets.  Underneath is a built-in lacy blouse, which is quite pretty, if sort of hard to button.  However, what you can’t tell too clearly from the pictures is that it has a bubble hem, which I’m sort of dubious about.  I have a butt that is already quite generously proportioned; there’s really no need to enhance it even further, is there?  Here is an embarrassing side view to illustrate:

anthro pale noon cardi side

Sigh, but I kind of love it regardless.  This will be a winter go-to-outfit with jeans, and I kind of want to try it over a swingy dress or skirt a la the catalog picture as well.

Well, besides the last sweater and the t-shirt, none of this is what I actually ended up *buying*,  but this post is getting absurdly long and I’ll save that for another day.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love the Blurred Gardens Tee on you :) Would you mind telling me what size you are wearing?

Comment by Anu

thanks Anu :) I’m wearing a S. It’s a tiny bit loose and I could have probably sized down to an XS if I really felt like it, but I was pretty happy with it as it was too. Hope this helps you out!

Comment by goldenmeans

Awesome style, hey that Carved Cove Sweater is on sale for 69.95, hpe you can get a price adjustment since you bought it recently.

Comment by Amber

Citrus Cluster Cardigan is on sale also, It says you can do a price adjustment within 14 days of buying merchandise, some of your other stuff might be on sale also.

Comment by Amber

thanks Amber! I didn’t actually buy either of those items, I know well enough to wait for Anthro sales. Already snapped them up today! :)

Comment by goldenmeans

I remember seeing the Citrus Cluster Cardigan at Anthropologie but was in a hurry and could not stay in the long line to buy. I was wondering about the fit – did you end up buying a larger size and are you really in love with it (seeing if it is worth me starting the search for it). Thanks :o)

Comment by Irene

Hi Irene — I did end up ordering the Citrus Cluster cardigan in a M instead of a S (which I wear on top almost always) and it was definitely the right choice. If you are at all big busted I would definitely recommend doing the same! It is very pretty, although I am debating keeping it since I have an already embarrassingly large collection of frilly cardigans that I don’t get a chance to wear that often.

Comment by goldenmeans

[...] I made the same complaint when I reviewed a very similar cardigan, the Sheet Music Cardi (review here, actual IRL picture here) last year, and even though I ended up buying it, I rarely wear it because [...]

Pingback by This Week’s Anthropologie Reviews « goldenmeans




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

